Microsoft Dynamics Forums Homepage

Forum Home Forum Home > Microsoft Dynamics GP (Great Plains) > GP - Installation and Administration
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - GP performance
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login


GP performance

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
breed View Drop Down
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member


Joined: October 10 2006
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote breed Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: GP performance
    Posted: October 10 2006 at 10:01am

Hi,

 

Currently Iím looking for some suggestion regarding performance on the GP environment, as time has gone by the application seems to take about 60 to 80 sec to launch using TS after the application loads viewing data seems to be working fine and after our go-live the application was taking about 10 sec to load.

 
Ver: 9.00.0259
SQL 2005
 

Any idealsÖ.Thanks BR

BR
Back to Top
Sponsored Links


Back to Top
MrD1212 View Drop Down
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member


Joined: September 18 2006
Status: Offline
Points: 20
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MrD1212 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: October 10 2006 at 11:06am
does this happen on all your workstations?
 
If so, then try using the performance tools for SQL server and look up what session is getting more CPU time from your server and start from there...
 
Usually there isn't that much that you can do when an enterprise application is using your SQL server extensively as GP. If you have a test environment where you can reporoduce your production GP, try tuning that SQL machine with shrinking tables and so on...
 
have fun!
MrD
Back to Top
breed View Drop Down
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member


Joined: October 10 2006
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote breed Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: October 10 2006 at 11:21am
HI,
 
Yep we have a test DB and it's the same, and this is accross the boad on all WS also??? What kind of login speed do you have for GP.
 
BR 
BR
Back to Top
MrD1212 View Drop Down
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member


Joined: September 18 2006
Status: Offline
Points: 20
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MrD1212 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: October 10 2006 at 11:23am
I can't make the case since our GP is hosted a few miles away on a dedicated T1 line...
Try the performance monitor that comes with SQL Server.. start there
MrD
Back to Top
IDAVIES624 View Drop Down
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member


Joined: November 06 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Points: 1
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote IDAVIES624 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: November 06 2006 at 9:28am
Can you see the process monitor (File->process monitor) as it loads.
In GP 9.0 it is possible that a number of reminders run as you log in. We found that we had to turn off the homepage for all users otherwise the system would grind to a halt.
Back to Top
breed View Drop Down
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member


Joined: October 10 2006
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote breed Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: November 06 2006 at 10:05am

Hi,

On changing the homepage what would be the best way about removing this.

 
Thanks
BR
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down


Copyright 2013 microsoftdynamicsforums.com. All rights reserved. MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com is an independent non-Microsoft website.
Email: contact AT microsoftdynamicsforums DOT com