Microsoft Dynamics Forums Homepage

Forum Home Forum Home > Microsoft Dynamics SL (Solomon) > SL - Installation and Administration
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Unable to Connect to Database
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login


Unable to Connect to Database

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
msq View Drop Down
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member


Joined: May 09 2012
Status: Offline
Points: 27
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote msq Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Unable to Connect to Database
    Posted: May 09 2012 at 9:59am

I have a new SL 7.0 setup on a WIndows 2008 Server using MS SQl Server 2008 database. I also have setup a Blank and a Demo compnay.

When I launch SL Database Maintenance and search for database (Application - > Open Company - > Find Database); I get the following error:

"Unable to open the specified server database MyServername"

What am I doing wrong?

Back to Top
Sponsored Links


Back to Top
Rohtash Kapoor View Drop Down
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Moderator
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Moderator


Joined: July 06 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 655
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Rohtash Kapoor Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: May 09 2012 at 7:40pm

Are you getting this error right after when you click "Find Database" button?

No:
If not, are you sure you are choosing the right SERVERNAME and SL System Database (not Application Datbase).
 
Yes:
Please try these resolutions:
 
Back to Top
Karya Technologies View Drop Down
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member


Joined: July 18 2013
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 36
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Karya Technologies Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: August 05 2013 at 3:01am
Check the server name in the domain table in database. Otherwise Update Domain set ServerName = 'MyServerName' where DatabaseName = 'MyDatabaseName'. 

Karya Technologies provides Microsoft Dynamics Services(AX, NAV, GP, SL & CRM), Microsoft Sharepoint Services and Mobility Solutions.
Back to Top
dkras05 View Drop Down
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member


Joined: August 14 2014
Status: Offline
Points: 4
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote dkras05 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: August 14 2014 at 12:42pm
I am using windows 7 Ultimate 32bit and I have Solomon 6.5 installed and database maintenance can access server but when I open Solomon 6.5 I can NOT find the database on the server. Please Please help.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down


Copyright 2013 microsoftdynamicsforums.com. All rights reserved. MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com is an independent non-Microsoft website.
Email: contact AT microsoftdynamicsforums DOT com