Microsoft Dynamics Forums Homepage

Forum Home Forum Home > Microsoft Dynamics SL (Solomon) > SL - Installation and Administration
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Solomon 5.5 on SQL Server 2008
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login


Solomon 5.5 on SQL Server 2008

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
rdewild View Drop Down
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member


Joined: December 14 2010
Location: Springfield
Status: Offline
Points: 1
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote rdewild Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Solomon 5.5 on SQL Server 2008
    Posted: December 14 2010 at 12:12pm
We are currently using Solomon 5.5 on a SQL Server 2000. Our SQL Server is aging and we have installed new hardware. A Server with SQL Server 2008. We successfully restored the Solomon data database and system databases on the new platform. However, attaching from our workstations is ore trouble some. I had hoped to just change server settings we we successfully did with some other applications that run on the same SQL Server.

When I start the Solomon database maintenance application it will ask me what server to connect to.
i specify the server and 'sa' login id. When I click Connect i get a message stating that I must use the SQL Server management studio to connect to this server.

Alternatively, when I start Solomon and click on 'System Database' from the login screen I can enter the server name. When I change this to our new server I am presented to enter the "System Database Server Password" When I enter this, the 'sa' password that is, I just loops to the same screen. It never makes the connection. When I click cancel I am presented with "System message 5003" Unable to open the specified server database.

Indeed, the 'sa' password I enter is correct. I can successfully connect to the server and the Solomon databases using the ODBC wizard or via a SQL Query Window.

using a SQL Query window I have updated the 'Domain' table in the system database with the new server information.

Can anyone offer any suggestions on how to change Solomon to look at my new SQL Server?


Robert de Wild
Back to Top
Sponsored Links


Back to Top
jhunter77082 View Drop Down
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member


Joined: August 15 2006
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 237
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jhunter77082 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: December 14 2010 at 3:11pm
SL 5.5 is not supported on SQL 2008.  You have two choices...
1. Move the databases to a compatible server (SQL 2000)
2. Upgrade your SL to 7.0 SP1 or greater.
John Hunter
MCSE, MCDBA
MBS Certified Master - SL Application - SL Installation and Configuration
Microsoft Certified Business Management Solutions Specialist - Application Dynamics SL, AX
Back to Top
lansishao View Drop Down
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member


Joined: March 02 2011
Status: Offline
Points: 12
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote lansishao Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: March 02 2011 at 6:24pm
How about solomon 6.5 able to support on SQL 2008?
Back to Top
Rohtash Kapoor View Drop Down
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Moderator
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Moderator


Joined: July 06 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 655
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Rohtash Kapoor Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: March 02 2011 at 7:22pm
It's not supported but might work. Don't change the compatibility to 100.
 
Originally posted by lansishao lansishao wrote:

How about solomon 6.5 able to support on SQL 2008?
Back to Top
lansishao View Drop Down
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member


Joined: March 02 2011
Status: Offline
Points: 12
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote lansishao Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: March 02 2011 at 11:11pm
thanks for your advice. Our company going to change server to 2008, so that i scared it will have problem. what you mean by "Don't change the compatibility to 100" sorry to say that i am newbie...

Back to Top
Rohtash Kapoor View Drop Down
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Moderator
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Moderator


Joined: July 06 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 655
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Rohtash Kapoor Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: March 03 2011 at 10:12pm
By compatibility I meant database compatibility level.
 
Databases in SQL Server 2000 have database compatibility of 80
Databases in SQL Server 2005 have database compatibility of 90
Databases in SQL Server 2008 have database compatibility of 100
 
So if you have some databases in SQL Server 2005 when you move it to SQL Sever 2008, then you can still keep the compatibility level to 90 or you can change to 100.
 
To check the compatibility level you can go to SQL Server Management Studio and see the comatibility setting in the Database Properties.
 
Originally posted by lansishao lansishao wrote:

thanks for your advice. Our company going to change server to 2008, so that i scared it will have problem. what you mean by "Don't change the compatibility to 100" sorry to say that i am newbie...

Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down


Copyright 2013 microsoftdynamicsforums.com. All rights reserved. MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com is an independent non-Microsoft website.
Email: contact AT microsoftdynamicsforums DOT com