Microsoft Dynamics Forums Homepage

Forum Home Forum Home > Microsoft Dynamics GP (Great Plains) > GP - Installation and Administration
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - attaching Production Database to New Test Server
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login


attaching Production Database to New Test Server

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
vmk View Drop Down
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member


Joined: June 01 2008
Status: Offline
Points: 12
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote vmk Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: attaching Production Database to New Test Server
    Posted: June 30 2008 at 8:48am
I setup a new test server that functions fine with the sample database. I attached a company database that I detached from our production server. How can I get dynamics to see and use the new database?
 
Thank You for any assistance...
 
Regards,
 
Back to Top
Sponsored Links


Back to Top
daoudm View Drop Down
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member


Joined: February 04 2008
Location: Amman
Status: Offline
Points: 442
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote daoudm Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: June 30 2008 at 1:15pm

The work around solutions for your issues is to create a new company on your test server, and then restore your database over the created one, this for sure may generate some issues in currencies and other stuff, but this is the only solution you currently have.

If you restored you Dynamics over the new one, your test server will act as production one.

Mohammad R. Daoud [MVP]
+962 - 79 - 999 65 85
mohdaoud@gmail.com
http://mohdaoud.blogspot.com
Back to Top
vmk View Drop Down
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member


Joined: June 01 2008
Status: Offline
Points: 12
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote vmk Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: June 30 2008 at 1:25pm

What is the best way to backup dynamics while operating in production mode that can be restored to the test server?

Thank You
Back to Top
daoudm View Drop Down
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member


Joined: February 04 2008
Location: Amman
Status: Offline
Points: 442
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote daoudm Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: June 30 2008 at 1:29pm
Backup does not effect the database nor the process, users can keep working on the system while databases are backed up, Perform Full database backup and restore it over the one on the test server.
Mohammad R. Daoud [MVP]
+962 - 79 - 999 65 85
mohdaoud@gmail.com
http://mohdaoud.blogspot.com
Back to Top
vmk View Drop Down
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member


Joined: June 01 2008
Status: Offline
Points: 12
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote vmk Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: June 30 2008 at 1:33pm
Thank You
Back to Top
daoudm View Drop Down
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member


Joined: February 04 2008
Location: Amman
Status: Offline
Points: 442
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote daoudm Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: June 30 2008 at 1:36pm
You are always welcome Smile
Mohammad R. Daoud [MVP]
+962 - 79 - 999 65 85
mohdaoud@gmail.com
http://mohdaoud.blogspot.com
Back to Top
microsoftslave View Drop Down
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member


Joined: July 11 2008
Status: Offline
Points: 46
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote microsoftslave Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: July 17 2008 at 2:07pm

The Note Index may be screwed up doing it this way but there are ways around that.

Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down


Copyright 2013 microsoftdynamicsforums.com. All rights reserved. MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com is an independent non-Microsoft website.
Email: contact AT microsoftdynamicsforums DOT com