Microsoft Dynamics Forums Homepage

Forum Home Forum Home > Microsoft Dynamics GP (Great Plains) > GP - Installation and Administration
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - install/uninstall problem GP 10
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login


install/uninstall problem GP 10

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Message
danzero View Drop Down
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member


Joined: March 24 2008
Location: Montreal
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote danzero Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: install/uninstall problem GP 10
    Posted: March 24 2008 at 1:10pm
Hi everybody,

I'm having a lot of trouble trying to run the GP 10 installer (to add additional components to my current fully working GP 10 installation.)

This is the situation: I have a fully working GP 10 server. However, if I try running the installer (setup.exe from CD 1), it closes and does nothing when I click on "Microsoft Dynamics GP". If I try to uninstall GP10 from Add/Remove programs, it does nothing as well.

We tried everything we could think of, running setup.exe from the command prompt, with different switches, we uninstalled MS updates, uninstalled .net completely, then reinstalled .net. We're running on Win2k3 R2, x64, SP2.

Thanks for any insight,

Dan Chiasson


Back to Top
Sponsored Links


Back to Top
dpatel View Drop Down
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member


Joined: February 26 2008
Status: Offline
Points: 18
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote dpatel Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: March 24 2008 at 3:56pm

Check regedit -> LastUsedSource for GreatPlains.msi and make sure that you are using the correct path for installation/uninstallation for the same.

Thanks,

Debashis

MCAD.Net,MCSD.Net

 

Back to Top
Papa Perry View Drop Down
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member


Joined: March 20 2008
Location: SoCal
Status: Offline
Points: 19
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Papa Perry Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: March 26 2008 at 11:56pm

Thanks Debashis!

This was frustrating me.  I could not add products to a GP install at a client.  Turns out their IT staff moved my software directory.  Once I edited the registry with the correct path, I was able to add the new code.

 

Papa Perry Smith
GPITConsultant@gmail.com

Installing and upgrading Dynamics GP since 1995
Back to Top
danzero View Drop Down
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member


Joined: March 24 2008
Location: Montreal
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote danzero Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: March 27 2008 at 9:32am
Thanks for your help Debashis.

Unfortunately in my case, it seems the problem is something else.

I think it's related to .net (big surprise), and Dexterity Shared Components. But regardless if I uninstall .net completely, and let the installer re-install it, the installer simply exits. And this is is on a fresh install of Windows 2k3 SP2

I must admit in my 15+ years in IT, Dynamics GP has to be the most frustrating piece of software I've ever had the misfortune to work with. I can't believe our company paid good money for such a ridiculously convoluted semi-working application. :(

Dan
Back to Top
dpatel View Drop Down
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member


Joined: February 26 2008
Status: Offline
Points: 18
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote dpatel Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: March 28 2008 at 11:23pm

There has to be a reason why  it's unable to install. I need a little more info on investigating on this. Can you see the event viewer logs ..Go to your root drive WINDOWS directory and check for the logs too.. Some more info will make  things clearer.

Thanks,
Debashis
MCSD.Net, MCAD.Net
Back to Top
technickel View Drop Down
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member


Joined: April 01 2008
Status: Offline
Points: 4
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote technickel Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: April 01 2008 at 12:34pm
GP 10 is one of the worst sw packages I've ever tried to install/upgrade.  Our GP 9 to 10 upgrade has failed to install 14 times on our test server and is still not running.  We resolve one problem, then find another.  GP support staff have been unable to identify the problem.

GP 6, 7, 8, and 9 upgrades worked.   GP 9 to 10 Upgrade has been a nightmare.

.NET must be version 2.0....  no service packs or updates.  GP 10 Upgrade only likes .NET 2.0 during install.

Good luck.
Back to Top
Papa Perry View Drop Down
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member


Joined: March 20 2008
Location: SoCal
Status: Offline
Points: 19
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Papa Perry Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: April 03 2008 at 4:29pm

I have been installing and upgrading the Great Plains products since 1996.  My 1st SQL upgrade was from the intial 3.0 beta version.

I have probably performed more upgrades than anyone in the world to tell you the truth (at least that is what many MBS people tell me).  The 9.0 and 10.0 upgrades have been the least frustrating for me. 
 
The problem with .net 2.0 SP1 is not just a Dynamics GP problem, but was a problem with many other products (some non MS).
 
What issues are you having?  Perhaps I can assist.
 
 
Papa Perry Smith
GPITConsultant@gmail.com

Installing and upgrading Dynamics GP since 1995
Back to Top
danzero View Drop Down
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member


Joined: March 24 2008
Location: Montreal
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote danzero Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: April 04 2008 at 11:01am
Thanks everyone for your kind assistance!

After lots of digging, I found this hidden log file, which is created when you run the GP setup.exe. This is the contents of the log file
(C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\Local Settings\Temp\log3.tmp). The error points the finger at Managed code, which is related to .net.
 
4/4/2008 3:02 PM: Initializing resources...
4/4/2008 3:02 PM: Finished initializing resources.
4/4/2008 3:02 PM: Initializing components...
4/4/2008 3:02 PM: Finished initializing components.
4/4/2008 3:02 PM: Verifying only one instance running...
4/4/2008 3:02 PM: Finished verifying only one instance running.
4/4/2008 3:02 PM: Verifying OS...
4/4/2008 3:02 PM: Finished verifying OS.
4/4/2008 3:02 PM: Performing custom verification steps...
4/4/2008 3:02 PM: Finished custom verification.
4/4/2008 3:02 PM: Checking component installation states...
4/4/2008 3:02 PM: Finished checking installation states.
4/4/2008 3:02 PM: ERROR: Managed code returned failure.
4/4/2008 3:02 PM: Return Code: 12000
4/4/2008 3:02 PM: Performing cleanup...
4/4/2008 3:02 PM: Executing cleanup routine: FreeCustom
4/4/2008 3:02 PM: Releasing custom verification resources...
4/4/2008 3:02 PM: Finished releasing custom verification resources.
4/4/2008 3:02 PM: Finished executing cleanup routine: FreeCustom
4/4/2008 3:02 PM: Executing cleanup routine: FreeOS
4/4/2008 3:02 PM: Releasing OS check resources...
4/4/2008 3:02 PM: Finished releasing OS check resources.
4/4/2008 3:02 PM: Finished executing cleanup routine: FreeOS
4/4/2008 3:02 PM: Executing cleanup routine: FreeMutex
4/4/2008 3:02 PM: Releasing mutex resources...
4/4/2008 3:02 PM: Finished releasing resources.
4/4/2008 3:02 PM: Finished executing cleanup routine: FreeMutex
4/4/2008 3:02 PM: Executing cleanup routine: FreeComponents
4/4/2008 3:02 PM: Releasing components...
4/4/2008 3:02 PM: Finished initializing components.
4/4/2008 3:02 PM: Finished executing cleanup routine: FreeComponents
4/4/2008 3:02 PM: Executing cleanup routine: FreeResources
4/4/2008 3:02 PM: Releasing resources...
4/4/2008 3:02 PM: Finished releasing resources...
4/4/2008 3:02 PM: Finished executing cleanup routine: FreeResources
4/4/2008 3:02 PM: Executing cleanup routine: FreeLogFile



Back to Top
Papa Perry View Drop Down
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member


Joined: March 20 2008
Location: SoCal
Status: Offline
Points: 19
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Papa Perry Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: April 05 2008 at 8:13am
Do you have .net 2.0 or 3.0 SP1 insalled.
 
There should also be an install log in the client directory.  I believe under data.
Papa Perry Smith
GPITConsultant@gmail.com

Installing and upgrading Dynamics GP since 1995
Back to Top
kiwirose View Drop Down
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member


Joined: April 05 2008
Status: Offline
Points: 1
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote kiwirose Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: April 05 2008 at 5:22pm
Hi I am new, I want to know how to solve problem with below?
I tried to remove:
1. Uninstall unable to locate the installation log file "C:\swwin\uninst.isu. Uninstallation will not continue.
 2. MS Word error report said: Run-time "-2147467259 (80004005)': Method "PrivateProfileString' of object 'System failed'
 
kiwirose
Back to Top
dktfwa View Drop Down
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member


Joined: April 25 2007
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 1
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote dktfwa Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: June 26 2008 at 11:10am
Any update on this issue?  I'm having the same problem on my server and I'm unable to install IM 10 on the same server which fials with a "unexpected instance encountered:
Back to Top
Mpaulen View Drop Down
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member


Joined: July 01 2008
Location: Florida
Status: Offline
Points: 4
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Mpaulen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: July 01 2008 at 2:56pm
I actually ran into this exact same type problem as the original poster when I was doing an install about a month ago.  Worked on it for hours.  A fix I found was using a Windows Cleanup Tool to remove an "instance" of GP that was not showing up in the add/remove programs.  After the Cleanup Tool removed it, I was able to install no problem.
 
Cleanup tool can be found here:  http://support.microsoft.com/kb/290301
Back to Top
microsoftslave View Drop Down
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member


Joined: July 11 2008
Status: Offline
Points: 46
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote microsoftslave Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: July 11 2008 at 1:51pm
Hi
 
I have the same odd issue at a client
 
I click MS Dynamics install and NOTHING happens at all......
 
Any solutions?
 
MS hasnt helped At All :(
 
Cheers
 
Back to Top
Mpaulen View Drop Down
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member


Joined: July 01 2008
Location: Florida
Status: Offline
Points: 4
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Mpaulen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: July 11 2008 at 2:08pm

Does your client have Symantec Endpoint Protection installed?  Microsoft has acknowledged that GP 10.0 and Symantec Endpoint Protection have a known issue and SEP will stop GP 10.0 from running. 

Back to Top
elsadejesus View Drop Down
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member


Joined: July 12 2008
Location: Australia
Status: Offline
Points: 2
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote elsadejesus Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: July 12 2008 at 10:08am
Hi,
 
I've got the same problem in installing my GP10.  Setup.exe doesn't do anything at all.  I tried all possible solutions - still to no avail.  I checked the logs and mine is the same with Denzo.  I remember the last thing I did before this happens was when I deleted something in my registry.  Please helpCry
 
Regards,
 
Elsa
Back to Top
microsoftslave View Drop Down
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member


Joined: July 11 2008
Status: Offline
Points: 46
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote microsoftslave Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: July 15 2008 at 6:57pm
msiexec /i "C:\ path \bin\GreatPlains.msi" SQL_SERVER_NAME=" server that is running Microsoft SQL Server " INSTALLDIR=" installdirpath " SELECTED_COUNTRY=" country " TRANSFORMS=:Inst0 instance ;c:\skipdotnetcheck.mst INSTANCE_NAME=" instancename " MSINEWINSTANCE=1 /qb+
 
This will install the core; you'll not be able to uninstall it though; still working on finding a full solution but thought I'd share this
 
Cheers
 
Back to Top
microsoftslave View Drop Down
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member


Joined: July 11 2008
Status: Offline
Points: 46
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote microsoftslave Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: July 15 2008 at 6:58pm

Erm..... how can I post the mst file you need for the above..... :-(  ????

I guess if you give me an email address....
 
Cheers
 
Back to Top
elsadejesus View Drop Down
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member


Joined: July 12 2008
Location: Australia
Status: Offline
Points: 2
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote elsadejesus Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: July 16 2008 at 3:43am
Hi Microsoftslave,
 
Thanks for the input - but just before I read your email , I ran an msi fix and viola - my GP10 installer is now working...
 
Thanks.
Back to Top
microsoftslave View Drop Down
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member


Joined: July 11 2008
Status: Offline
Points: 46
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote microsoftslave Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: July 16 2008 at 6:12am
Hello,
 
When you say MSI fix can you explain - perhaps your method is better than mine?
 
Cheers
 
Back to Top
steverhud View Drop Down
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member


Joined: October 29 2008
Status: Offline
Points: 2
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote steverhud Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: October 29 2008 at 1:02pm
Originally posted by danzero danzero wrote:

Thanks everyone for your kind assistance!

After lots of digging, I found this hidden log file, which is created when you run the GP setup.exe. This is the contents of the log file
(C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\Local Settings\Temp\log3.tmp). The error points the finger at Managed code, which is related to .net.
 
4/4/2008 3:02 PM: Initializing resources...
4/4/2008 3:02 PM: Finished initializing resources.
4/4/2008 3:02 PM: Initializing components...
4/4/2008 3:02 PM: Finished initializing components.
4/4/2008 3:02 PM: Verifying only one instance running...
4/4/2008 3:02 PM: Finished verifying only one instance running.
4/4/2008 3:02 PM: Verifying OS...
4/4/2008 3:02 PM: Finished verifying OS.
4/4/2008 3:02 PM: Performing custom verification steps...
4/4/2008 3:02 PM: Finished custom verification.
4/4/2008 3:02 PM: Checking component installation states...
4/4/2008 3:02 PM: Finished checking installation states.
4/4/2008 3:02 PM: ERROR: Managed code returned failure.
4/4/2008 3:02 PM: Return Code: 12000
4/4/2008 3:02 PM: Performing cleanup...
4/4/2008 3:02 PM: Executing cleanup routine: FreeCustom
4/4/2008 3:02 PM: Releasing custom verification resources...
4/4/2008 3:02 PM: Finished releasing custom verification resources.
4/4/2008 3:02 PM: Finished executing cleanup routine: FreeCustom
4/4/2008 3:02 PM: Executing cleanup routine: FreeOS
4/4/2008 3:02 PM: Releasing OS check resources...
4/4/2008 3:02 PM: Finished releasing OS check resources.
4/4/2008 3:02 PM: Finished executing cleanup routine: FreeOS
4/4/2008 3:02 PM: Executing cleanup routine: FreeMutex
4/4/2008 3:02 PM: Releasing mutex resources...
4/4/2008 3:02 PM: Finished releasing resources.
4/4/2008 3:02 PM: Finished executing cleanup routine: FreeMutex
4/4/2008 3:02 PM: Executing cleanup routine: FreeComponents
4/4/2008 3:02 PM: Releasing components...
4/4/2008 3:02 PM: Finished initializing components.
4/4/2008 3:02 PM: Finished executing cleanup routine: FreeComponents
4/4/2008 3:02 PM: Executing cleanup routine: FreeResources
4/4/2008 3:02 PM: Releasing resources...
4/4/2008 3:02 PM: Finished releasing resources...
4/4/2008 3:02 PM: Finished executing cleanup routine: FreeResources
4/4/2008 3:02 PM: Executing cleanup routine: FreeLogFile





Did we ever get a resolution to this?  I am having the exact same issue and can't find any other information on this.
Back to Top
microsoftslave View Drop Down
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member


Joined: July 11 2008
Status: Offline
Points: 46
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote microsoftslave Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: October 29 2008 at 1:31pm
I went through the registry and removed EVERY entry for GP and that fixed it
 
Took me 3 hours and it sucked but I got it working
 
Cheers
 
 
Back to Top
microsoftslave View Drop Down
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member


Joined: July 11 2008
Status: Offline
Points: 46
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote microsoftslave Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: August 05 2009 at 7:05pm
what was this msi fix??
Back to Top
microsoftslave View Drop Down
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member


Joined: July 11 2008
Status: Offline
Points: 46
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote microsoftslave Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: August 06 2009 at 7:51pm
Hi

Now I have came across 3 machines (2 servers on workstation) that will not install GP.

When I click Setup.exe the menu appears - I choose Dynamics GP - it simply exits and the install never commences.

I have removed every registry entry for GP that I can find.

I have removed .net and reinstalled

I deleted all program files through explorer....

Revo, Cleanup and MSIFix applications did not work.

Only once did this process work - the other times I still cant get GP 10 to install - anyone have any thoughts

Ian

Back to Top
Rohtash Kapoor View Drop Down
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Moderator
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Moderator


Joined: July 06 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 655
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Rohtash Kapoor Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: August 06 2009 at 10:43pm
Are you installing GP10 or GP10 Feature Pack1. Some of the installation related issues are fixed in Feature Pack1.
 
Originally posted by microsoftslave microsoftslave wrote:

Hi

Now I have came across 3 machines (2 servers on workstation) that will not install GP.

When I click Setup.exe the menu appears - I choose Dynamics GP - it simply exits and the install never commences.

I have removed every registry entry for GP that I can find.

I have removed .net and reinstalled

I deleted all program files through explorer....

Revo, Cleanup and MSIFix applications did not work.

Only once did this process work - the other times I still cant get GP 10 to install - anyone have any thoughts

Ian

Back to Top
microsoftslave View Drop Down
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member


Joined: July 11 2008
Status: Offline
Points: 46
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote microsoftslave Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: August 07 2009 at 7:00am
I am using the new FP1 downloaded DVD - and SP3

The first system I had the issue with was a Server (2003) and it was the original RTM CD's

The following 2 systems have been with the afore mentioned FP1

Thanks so much for the response.


Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down


Copyright 2013 microsoftdynamicsforums.com. All rights reserved. MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com is an independent non-Microsoft website.
Email: contact AT microsoftdynamicsforums DOT com