Microsoft Dynamics Forums Homepage

Forum Home Forum Home > Microsoft Dynamics GP (Great Plains) > GP - Installation and Administration
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Copy GL and chart of accounts
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login


Copy GL and chart of accounts

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
rgarneau View Drop Down
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member


Joined: August 27 2007
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 1
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote rgarneau Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Copy GL and chart of accounts
    Posted: August 27 2007 at 10:07am

Hi

I am new to Great Plains  Our admin is out sick.
I have been asked to create 4 new companys.
Give them the same chart of accounts as another company.
Give them the same GL as another company.
Is this easy to do?
 
Back to Top
Sponsored Links


Back to Top
Joseph A Nader View Drop Down
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member


Joined: September 14 2006
Location: Lebanon
Status: Offline
Points: 360
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Joseph A Nader Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: September 06 2007 at 7:40am

Yes sure...

You need to create the first one from the GP utilities, make a back up for it after finishing the setup.
 
Then, create the rest of the companies from the GP utilities again & make a restore from the first company.
 
Good luck
Joseph Abou Nader, PMP



MCT
,MCTS,MCBMSS,MCSA
Back to Top
martinijim View Drop Down
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member


Joined: August 07 2006
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 2
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote martinijim Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: September 25 2007 at 4:59pm

There's also a tool in the Automated Solutions that will copy over Master Data.  You just create the new company and run the tool.  It takes only a few minutes to run and less hassle than backup\restore.

Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down


Copyright 2013 microsoftdynamicsforums.com. All rights reserved. MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com is an independent non-Microsoft website.
Email: contact AT microsoftdynamicsforums DOT com