Microsoft Dynamics Forums Homepage

Forum Home Forum Home > Microsoft Dynamics GP (Great Plains) > GP - Installation and Administration
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - HELP ... "Log file full" error
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login


HELP ... "Log file full" error

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
Keith View Drop Down
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member


Joined: February 23 2007
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 9
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Keith Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: HELP ... "Log file full" error
    Posted: July 30 2007 at 7:23am
Hi, we are a small company with only 5 users in GP 9.0.  Nobody can get into the system right now ... not even as System Administrator.  We all get an error that gives the following information:  "The log file for the database 'Dynamics' is full.  Backup the transaction log for the database to free up some  log space."
 
How do we do this backup?  I sure hope we can do it without logging into GP. 
Keith
Back to Top
Sponsored Links


Back to Top
Keith View Drop Down
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member


Joined: February 23 2007
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 9
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Keith Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: July 30 2007 at 9:06am
FYI in case anyone else runs into this problem - our network person discovered that it was a replication issue between the "hard copy" and "memory" versions of our log files.  She did a memory dump in Sequel and that fixed the error.
Keith
Back to Top
Joseph A Nader View Drop Down
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member


Joined: September 14 2006
Location: Lebanon
Status: Offline
Points: 360
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Joseph A Nader Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: August 01 2007 at 12:57am
You can use SQL Server to back up the transaction log.The transaction log file should be set to increase automtically by a percentage of 25%. In addition, you should make sure that you have enough disk space.
 
Good Luck
Joseph Abou Nader, PMP



MCT
,MCTS,MCBMSS,MCSA
Back to Top
Keith View Drop Down
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member
MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com Member


Joined: February 23 2007
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 9
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Keith Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: August 01 2007 at 6:10am
Thanks, Joe.  We were able to fix the problem, and we'll be making changes in how the sql database backups are done going forward.
Keith
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down


Copyright 2013 microsoftdynamicsforums.com. All rights reserved. MicrosoftDynamicsForums.com is an independent non-Microsoft website.
Email: contact AT microsoftdynamicsforums DOT com